Andrew Haigh’s “All of Us Strangers” was the big winner at the 2023 British Independent Film Awards (BIFAs) with seven wins.

“All of Us Strangers” won best British independent film, Haigh won best director and best screenplay and Paul Mescal won best supporting performance, adding to its three craft awards, announced in November, for cinematography, editing and music supervision.

Best lead performance went to Mia McKenna-Bruce in Molly Manning Walker’s debut feature “How to Have Sex” and the film also won the other best supporting performance BIFA for Shaun Thomas, adding to its best casting win.

Nathan Stewart-Jarrett and George MacKay won best joint lead performance for “Femme,” which also won for make-up and hair design and costume design.

Justine Triet’s Palme d’Or winning “Anatomy of a Fall” won best international independent film. Best debut director went to Savanah Leaf for “Earth Mama,” while best debut screenwriter went to Nida Manzoor for “Polite Society.” The breakthrough producer award was won by Theo Barrowclough for Charlotte Regan’s “Scrapper.” “Rye Lane” star Vivian Oparah won the breakthrough performance award and the film also received the best original music award.

Best documentary feature went to Alice Russell’s “If the Streets Were on Fire,” which also won this year’s Raindance Maverick Award. Best debut director – documentary feature went to Chloe Abrahams for “The Taste of Mango.” Abdou Cissé’s “Festival of Slaps” won best British short film.

The winners were revealed at the annual ceremony at Londo’s Old Billingsgate with BIFA patron Ray Winstone kicking off the celebration of independent film, Lolly Adefope and Kiell Smith-Bynoe hosting and stars including Jodie Comer, Aisling Bea, Zawe Ashton, Asa Butterfield and Theo James presenting awards.

The 2023 Richard Harris Award for outstanding contribution by an actor to British Film was presented to Stephen Graham by Comer. The special jury prize, presented by Paapa Essiedu, went to We Are Parable, the grassroots company founded by Anthony and Teanne Andrews to deliver Black cinema to audiences in exciting, culturally relevant, unique ways.

BIFA Winners 2023

The Richard Harris Award For Outstanding Contribution By An Actor To British Film
Stephen Graham

Best British Independent Film
“All Of Us Strangers” – Andrew Haigh, Graham Broadbent, Pete Czernin, Sarah Harvey

Best International Independent Film Sponsored By Champagne Taittinger
“Anatomy Of A Fall” – Justine Triet, Arthur Harari, Marie-ange Luciani, David Thion

Best Director Sponsored By Sky Cinema
Andrew Haigh – “All Of Us Strangers”

Best Screenplay Sponsored By Apple Original Films
Andrew Haigh – “All Of Us Strangers”

Best Lead Performance
Mia Mckenna-Bruce – “How To Have Sex”

Best Joint Lead Performance
Nathan Stewart-Jarrett, George Mackay – “Femme”

Best Supporting Performance
Paul Mescal – “All Of Us Strangers”
Shaun Thomas – “How To Have Sex”

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director) Sponsored By BBC Film
Savanah Leaf – “Earth Mama”

Breakthrough Producer Sponsored By Pinewood And Shepperton Studios
Theo Barrowclough – “Scrapper”

Breakthrough Performance Sponsored By Netflix
Vivian Oparah – “Rye Lane”

Best Debut Screenwriter Sponsored By Film4
Nida Manzoor – “Polite Society”

Best Debut Director – Feature Documentary
Chloe Abrahams – “The Taste Of Mango”

The Raindance Maverick Award
“If The Streets Were On Fire” – Alice Russell, Gannesh Rajah

Best Feature Documentary Sponsored By Intermission Film
“If The Streets Were On Fire” – Alice Russell, Gannesh Rajah

Best British Short Film
“Festival Of Slaps” – Abdou Cissé, Cheri Darbon, George Telfer

Special Jury Prize
We Are Parable

Best Casting Sponsored By Casting Society and Spotlight
Isabella Odoffin – “How To Have Sex”

Best Cinematography Sponsored By Harbor & Kodak
Jamie D. Ramsay – “All Of Us Strangers”

Best Costume Design
Buki Ebiesuwa – “Femme”

Best Editing
Jonathan Alberts – “All Of Us Strangers”

Best Effects
Jonathan Gales, Richard Baker – “The Kitchen”

Best Music Supervision
Connie Farr – “All Of Us Strangers”

Best Make-Up & Hair Design Sponsored By The Wall Group
Marie Deehan – “Femme”

Best Original Music Sponsored By Universal Music Publishing Group
Kwes – “Rye Lane”

Best Production Design Sponsored By ATC & Broadsword
Nathan Parker – “The Kitchen”

Best Sound Supported By Halo
Mark Jenkin – “Enys Men”